Transparent Wallpapers – Video Tutorial

I’ve had quite a few requests asking how to create transparent wallpapers for Windows Phone 7 lock screens. I explained the basic concept in my original post, but I figured I would clarify the process by creating a video tutorial. You can check out the video below and hopefully it helps :). If you’ve created your own wallpaper, you can share it in the gallery.

MY LOCKSCREEN APP – Get text on your lockscreen wallpaper (with or without PIN)

I recommend you change the video resolution to 720p or 1080p.

@keyboardP

14 Responses to Transparent Wallpapers – Video Tutorial

  1. Big Slim says:

    Thanks for the video. Something new for me to play with.

    • keyboardP says:

      You’re welcome 🙂 Figured a video would give a clearer explanation for this type of process.

  2. Pingback: Make a Custom Landing Page for Drupal from a Photoshop Design in Seconds - Wordpress Video Tutorials

  3. Pingback: Transparent Wallpapers in WP7 – Video Tutorial | www.nalli.net

  4. PatrickM says:

    Thanks for this tutorial, it will be useful ^^

    • keyboardP says:

      You’re welcome. Feel free to post any wallpapers you create and I’ll post them in the gallery

      • ethan davila says:

        hey i just wanted to know if you could show how to make the claw background so that we would be able to create some of them our self thanks and awsome tut

      • keyboardP says:

        Hi Ethan,

        I don’t have much time at the moment, but I’ll see what I can do.
        But, basically, I create a new file and create a new layer. This new layer will be the grey ‘metal’ bit. Once that’s coloured, I select the ‘free-select’ tool and draw ‘claw marks’. I then press the delete button and it should cut out the metal bit and show the background layer. Make sure you background layer is fully transparent and that should do the trick 🙂

  5. Doug says:

    Just as a heads up, I don’t know what I did wrong yet, but I saved some of the gallery photos to my computer as PNG files, then uploaded them to skydrive, and then saved them to my phone via skydrive syncing. When set as the wallpaper, the transparent parts came back non-transparent. I think maybe the action of saving from skydrive to the phone maybe converted the pictures to .jpg. We shall see!

    • keyboardP says:

      Hi Doug,
      You won’t be able to save the PNG directly to the phone as the phone automatically converts it into a JPG and removes the transparency from it. I haven’t tried it straight from Skydrive, but if there’s no option allowing you to ‘set as wallpaper’ directly, then I don’t think it will work. Of course, if you find a way, I’d love to hear it 😀

      • Doug says:

        Well, that certainly answers that question! You are right, from the SkyDrive camera role in the pictures hub, there is no option to set as wallpaper, only to save to phone, which does in fact convert it to JPG, as I just test and verified. so follow keyboardP’s instructions to a T. Though it would certainly be nice if saving a picture from skydrive, an integrated resource for Windows Phone 7 maintained the file format. I’m not knocking, just some extra integration with Live services I’m itching for. I love this phone!

      • keyboardP says:

        I agree, it would be great if the phone allowed you to save the PNG to the phone and set it as the wallpaper without having to go via the email route. Hopefully the WP7 team see how popular transparent wallpapers are and officially support it. Fingers crossed! 🙂

  6. Pingback: WP7 – átlátszó háttérkép « Surex's developer blog

  7. danny272829 says:

    Cool

Leave a Reply

