ICE App for WP7 (Mine!)

ICE ALERT CAN NOW BE DOWNLOADED FOR FREE. CHECK OUT THE NEW VIDEO AND DOWNLOAD HERE AT THE OFFICIAL SITE.

Update (30/07): Check out the latest version of ICE – click here

Information Update: ICE App currently in Marketplace is not mine

Hey everyone,

I’ve been posting videos I’ve received in the showcase area. I decided to create a video of an application I made called ICE (which stands for In case of Emergency). Should the owner of this app get into an accident, a paramedic could launch the ICE app and see details of the owner (e.g. ICE Contacts/Medications/Allergies/Conditions) very quickly and easily. This information could prove crucial in an emergency situation.  It’s still in development (waiting for an SDK update) and will be made available completely free of charge in Windows Marketplace when WP7 launches. Check out the video below and let me know what you think of it so far (comment on this post/YouTube, email me or message me on Twitter).

Update: The prototype of my ‘other project’ mentioned in the video can be seen here.

Enjoy! PS: Yes, various Vanilla Ice puns came into my head but I thought better of it…

@keyboardP

Share

22 Responses to ICE App for WP7 (Mine!)

  1. Glenn says:

    This is fantasic, It trully is, your a credit to yourself & you ought to be so proud of what you have done & created. I personally have no idea how hard it is to create these apps, or how hard it is to make them work with each other? I don’t know if this can be done, but if i was to ring (in australia the emergency number is 000) could the I.C.E app be automatically be opened and forwarded onto emergency services? Not only letting paramedics know what they are coming for, but possibly exactly where you are (GPS?) in the event the person in trouble is struggling to talk? As i said i have no idea if this is possible, tho i’m sure it is. I’m not asking for much am i,,, lol. what you have done so far is incredible, my added comments are more of a wish list than anything else, but they are ideas at least worth a thought,,, i think,,,lol,,, keep up the great work. Glenn (glug)

  2. keyboardp says:

    Hi Glenn,
    Thanks for the kind words! What you suggested will depend on what features will be available to developers. However, some aspects of what you said touch on the other project I’m working on. I’m not going to give too much detail about the other application just yet, but (depending on the available features), it will be more automated and designed to alert people, rather than be used when someone has found you. I’ll hopefully give more details before launch (but just like this app, it will be free). Thanks again for the support, it’s much appreciated!

  3. Glenn says:

    That being the case, i can’t wait to see your next video, I’m trying to think of different people i can contact to get behind the idea such as the http://www.ama.com.au/ (Australian Medical Association) I’m sure many of these accossiation world wide would agree this is a fantastic application, and at the price (free) their ain’t to much they could possibly knock it for. The opportunities are endless for this type of application. I’m not sure you realise just how many people you could possibly save with this kind of application, but i tip my hat to you and just wish their was more i could do to help you, Don’t give up, keep going, you’ll see, it will definitely be worth it.

    • keyboardp says:

      Hi Glenn,
      I’m hoping that people will see the app on Marketplace and suggest to other people to see if their phone has similar applications. As long as people mark “ICE” in their phonebook, that could always be a start in spreading the concept round.

  4. zee says:

    Awsome job. could be very handy. I have been waiting for windows phone 7 for a long time. I was wondering i do alot of work with windows 7 so was wondering are you guys going to make a remote desktop app. It would help alot of ppl out. jusst a idea…… again awsome job on ice. looking forward to downloading it as soon as i get the actual device.
    -zee

    • keyboardp says:

      Hi Zee, thanks for the reply! I don’t work for MS, so I can’t really say. However, you may be interested in this post. You can suggest an app you’d like to see.

      • zee says:

        cool thanks.

  5. Matthew says:

    Cool app, the only thing I would consider is Emergency responders are not likely to troll through your apps looking for ICE. They will go straight to Contacts. Can you add a special ICE contact that launches your application? THAT would be huge.

    • keyboardp says:

      Hi Matthew,
      That’s an immense idea. It’s not currently possible with the SDK, but I’ll see if any future SDKs allow for that. At the moment, the app’s icon is a prominent first-aid cross and the user is asked to place it on their main screen, probably as one of the tiles. However, I do like the idea of having a special ICE contact that launches the app and, if/when it’s possible, I’ll implement it. Thanks for the suggestion.

  6. Brett Cawley says:

    I actually did something very similar to this for The 2010 Microsoft Imagine Cup, I added a few other general health features like a BMI calculator etc. Would love to show you a video but cant get near my laptop atm. You can use the phonecall task to ring a phone number so maybe thats something to work on till the next sdk release 🙂 Keep up the good work!

    • keyboardp says:

      Hi Brett,
      Great minds think alike! 😀 Did you also use the WP7 platform? I managed to launch the phone call screen, but I’m thinking of adding a few more features in between the two stages, so would really like to be able to pull in contacts. I’d love to see a video of your project. Thanks for the support!

  7. Pingback: ICE App For Windows Phone 7

  8. Pingback: Windows Phone 7 ICE Application: In Case of Emergency | MobileTechWorld

  9. Pingback: Windows Phone 7 ICE App Prototype | Microsoft | RizwanAshraf.com

  10. Eric Renken says:

    Please don’t take this the wrong way. I love application, but speaking as a Paramedic (over 20 years) I would never recommend anyone to use ICE. I have heard people talking about ICE for many years and it is an interesting idea, but it is also not very practical. There are a few reasons:

    1. People should lock their phones for privacy and their own security. And if they do you couldn’t access the application because the phone is locked.

    2. As a Paramedic I am more interested in saving their lives than trying to look through the phone for information on the phone.

    3. There are also may have concerns about the right to search someone’s phone. What if you had incriminating information on your phone and the police found it. Did they have the right to search your phone?

    4. There have also been articles on how this information can be used against you. A group could set off a small bomb and leave a phone with ICE. Someone sees the phone and calls the ICE number and that triggers a bigger bomb. The bigger bomb was the whole point to take out the rescue workers.

    • keyboardp says:

      Hi Eric,

      Thanks for your reply, and I welcome all criticisms, so it’s cool :D.

      1) Yes, unfortunately this is a limiting factor at the moment. The current SDK doesn’t allow for third party developers to edit the lock screen, however I believe the iPhone SDK does, so this may change in the future. On the flip side, there are many people that don’t lock their phones with a keypass (rightly or wrongly, it’s their choice).

      2) Absolutely, and your priorities should be saving the person’s life. But, I would’ve thought at least having the option to see their background would be advantageous? It’s by no means a mandatory application to run, but there are times when it would be helpful.

      3) I’m no lawyer, so I don’t know the legalities behind this. However, ‘searching the phone’ is different from launching the application. If someone had incriminating text messages, then that could be construed as violating privacy rights. But running the application does not involve accessing any private locations on the phone.

      4) I’m sure this has happened, but by that logic, mobile phones should not be used because they can be used to trigger off bombs? Or they could just call the number “Home” or “Work” and perform the same action. I don’t know the number of cases of ICE-related bombings, and I’m certainly not trying to undermine their consequences, but I feel that if the terrorists wanted to kill rescue workers, they’d find a way with – or without – ICE.

      Thanks for the post, and any replies to what I’ve said are most welcome :).

  11. Brien says:

    I think Eric the paramedic makes an interesting point. That’s why I wear a RoadID on my wrist — unless my arm is cut off when my bike is runover, nobody has to search for my contacts or medical conditions.

    But is there another way? What if one put a sticker on the back of their phone case that says, “Paramedics and police, you have my permission to boot my phone and check the ICE information.” That doesn’t answer the PIN issue, but for those of us who don’t lock the phone … And you’re right, I want you to save me first. But if someone has time to contact my family or check my condition, I want it done. In fact, I was told that if you don’t know about my condition in time, I’ll be dead before you can helicopter me half an hour south to the major medical center.

    Love the preview of your app. Thanks from all of us. By the way, I’m not affiliated with RoadID. I’m just a customer.

    • keyboardp says:

      Hi Brien,

      You’re absolutely right. This app doesn’t have to replace anything you currently use (cards, wristbands etc..), but it’s always nice to have a fallback should one of those go missing or get damaged.

      I love your idea of having a sticker. Not only could you give permission, but the first respondent knows that you have an ICE application installed, so they could quickly go straight to it.

      I’m glad you like the application Brien and thanks for the reply, it’s much appreciated.

  12. sphlynx says:

    Amazing idea, good execution… But I have a few suggestions, why not make the UI dead attractive. I know you are still developing and the sdk is a little long in the tooth, but it’ll be nice to have an awesome UI. I have left some links below to clarity’s wp7 design concepts. The are awesome… Cheers

    http://blogs.claritycon.com/blogs/windows_phone_7/archive/2010/04/21/home-energy-management-amp-automation-with-windows-phone-7.aspx

    • keyboardp says:

      Hi sphlynx,
      Thanks for the link. Clarity Consulting have some awesome WP7 concepts and designs. I do plan to improve the UI, but I didn’t want to make it too flashy for two main reasons. Firstly, minimal load time is key so people can access everything quickly and easily. And secondly, I wanted to make the interface easy to use for anyone, whether they use technology or not .
      Having said that, you are absolutely right about the UI and it does require some work. I will definitely give it an overhaul before it launches. Thanks for the feedback sphlynx!

  13. Brien says:

    I guess I didn’t really mind the simple interface, but it would be interesting to see followup on sphlynx’s suggestion. I’m just not creative enough to imagine the possibilities.

    However, keep in mind that the info must be accessible by people who may not be familiar with the phone’s interface. For example, they may not know that you need to slide a screen to get more information. I don’t want that getting in the way of my care. If there’s a clear button that takes not thought, the better for the injured party. Think of an iPhone or iPad. To me it’s not at all intuitive that there can be a second screen of icons for apps to the right and you get there by sliding. Someone had to tell me about it.

    On the practical side, please don’t forget that phone numbers have different formats around the world. Here in the US we have (518) 555-1212 or 518-555-1212 or even 1-518-555-1212. I know it’s very different in Europe and I don’t know your format whereever you are. Can the program pick that up from the country code of the phone settings much like Windows formats currency and so on based on your setup location?

    • keyboardp says:

      Hi Brien,
      Like you say, there’s a fine line to cross in this type of application when deciding whether to go for flashy graphics or simplicity. Naturally the latter is more important in this case, but I will still spruce up the graphics somewhat, whilst maintaining the simplicity demonstrated in the video. I opted against having sliding menus since
      a) people might not know how to use it initially
      b) If they’re on the furthest screen and want to get back to a certain previous one, they’d have to keep scrolling and checking if that’s the page they want. That would waste vital time.

      Regarding the phone numbers, I’m going to have to see what the SDK does with the numbers. However, you probably shouldn’t have to worry about that because you can pull in the number from your mobile’s phone book so whatever format that’s in, will be maintained in this app.

      Thanks again for the feedback.

Leave a Reply

